Here we are – a fresh new year, no doubt with a feast of awesome new music coming our way over the next 12 months. And of course, now we’ve tipped over into a new year, that means Roadburn 2020 is only a few months away. Before you know it we’ll be counting down in weeks rather than months, and then in days rather than weeks.

But until then, we shall continue our quest to round up the best new music we’ve discovered from the previous week. It may be brand new, it may be a few weeks or even months old, but if it’s caught our ear, you’ll find it in the Roadburn Essential Sounds playlist. If you’ve not already done so, please consider subscribing to the playlist on Spotify.


If you’d like to seek out these songs elsewhere, here’s the info you’ll need:

Algiers – We Can’t Be Found (Matador)

Ioanna Gika – One Thing Leads to Another (Sargent House)

Hällas – Tear of a Traitor (RMV Grammafon)

Lotus Thief – Libation Bearers (Prophecy Productions)

Insect Ark – Tectonic (Profound Lore)

Sightless Pit – Kingscorpse (Thrill Jockey)

Regarde Les Hommes Tomber – A New Order (Season of Mist)

Fluisteraars – Vlek (Eisenwald)

Mairu – Wild Darkened Eyes (Self release)

Wake – This Abyssal Plain (Translation Loss)

Tombs – Monarchy of Shadows (Season of Mist)