June 14, 2019

A slight delay in getting last week’s Essential Sounds playlist out into the world led to people to enquire as to its whereabouts. Whilst we felt bad for the delay, it was a little bit heartwarming to know that these playlists have become a part of people’s Friday routine. Same over here!

This week’s playlist was pieced together whilst we engaged in some in depth conversations about the direction that Roadburn 2020 would take. It’s never easy to take the plunge and head in a new direction, but whilst ruminating on such thoughts it’s always a pleasure to have such a wealth of new and inspirational music as the soundtrack.

Cave In – Winter Window (HydraHead Industries)

Pijn & Conjurer – High Spirits (Holy Roar)

Wear Your Wounds – Shrinking Violet (Deathwish Inc)

Dead To A Dying World – Empty Hands, Hollow Hymns (Profound Lore)

Drowse – Between Fence Posts (The Flenser)

Pallbearer – Atlantis (Sub Pop)

Immortal Bird – Vestigial Warnings (20 Buck Spin)

Misþyrming – Ísland, Steingelda Krummaskuð (NoEvDiA)

Memoriam – Undefeated (Nuclear Blast)

Possessed – The Word (Nuclear Blast)

The Armed – FT. FRANK TURNER (Sargent House)

Howling Sycamore – Initiation (Prosthetic)

White Ring – Spiral Clown (Rocket Girl)