February 22, 2019

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! As inch closer to Roadburn more and more artists who are performing will be releasing new music – and it’s a wondrous thing! Sure, we might be knee-deep in to-do lists; yes, we are prone to moments of panic should a calendar pass by our eyeline (48 days to go!) – but we’re also wallowing in the gloriously refreshing waters of all this new music!

GOLD will release their fourth – and arguably finest – album, Why Aren’t You Laughing? just before Roadburn, and their performance with us will be a release party. The first track from the album, He Is Not, kicks off this week’s playlist. It’s a beauty.

Marissa Nadler has sprung a new two-track EP on us, and we couldn’t be more thrilled. Featuring The Velvet Underground’s John Cale, it’s a gorgeous tease of a release. Bellrope have today released You Must Relax – and they’ll play at Exile on Mainstream’s 20th birthday celebration on the Saturday of Roadburn at the Hall of Fame.

There’s also tracks from more Roadburn alumni (Helms Alee, Primitive Man – and of course, Waste of Space Orchestra), as well as artists that have just caught our attention – their charms are more than evident.   This week’s playlist will – hopefully – be the soundtrack to use triumphantly crossing items off our Roadburn to do lists! See you on the other side.

– Becky Laverty

As ever, if you’d like to seek out these tracks elsewhere, here’s the information you’ll need:

GOLD – He Is Not (Artoffact Records)

Helms Alee – Interachnid (Sargent House)

Elizabeth Colour Wheel – Pink Palm (The Flenser)

Marissa Nadler, John Cale – Poison (KRO Records)

Low Dose – Low (Brutal Panda)

Velveteen Riot – Ophelia (Self Release)

Ioanna Gika – Out of Focus (Sargent House)

Teeth of the Sea – I’d Rather, Jack (Rocket Recordings)

Waste of Space Orchestra – Seeker’s Reflection (Svart)

Primitive Man – Pitiful & Loathsome (Translation Loss)

11PARANOIAS – Bloodless Crush (Ritual Productions)

Bellrope – You Must Relax (Exile on Mainstream)