January 4, 2019

Our first playlist of the new year has been put in the capable hands of Imperial Triumphant.  As preparations ramp up for 2019’s edition of Roadburn, we’ll likely hand over several more playlists to artists so you can get a glimpse into what makes them tick.

Imperial Triumphant‘s 2018 release, Vile Luxury, was released last summer to broad critical acclaim – and it more than caught our attention, warranting an invite to this year’s festivities. A portrait of duality and complex juxtapositions, Vile Luxury is a writhing mass of genres and influences too entwined to unpick. It’s a killer record and if you’ve not checked it out yet, may we suggest you add that to your list of new year’s resolutions?

As for that unpicking… we thought the band could do that for us themselves. They explain:

“We write from an extremely wide spectrum of music but in the vein of metal music and direct influences, we present to you this compilation. These various influences may stem from orchestration, song writing or even instrument technique. Band’s like Deathspell Omega, Gorguts, and Portal are obvious choices but perhaps we can enlighten our fans to recordings from The Residents, Car Bomb or Plebeian Grandstand. Enjoy this assortment of a few of Vile Luxury‘s “ingredients”.

As ever, if you would like to seek out these tracks elsewhere, here’s the info you’ll need…

Deathspell Omega – The Shrine of Mad Laughter (NoEvDia)
Car Bomb – The Seconds (Car Bomb)

Plebeian Grandstand – Thrvst (Throat Ruiner)
Duke Ellington – Caravan – Money Jungle (Blue Note)
Meshuggah – Obzen (Nuclear Blast)
Daughters – Sweet Georgia Brown (Hydra Head)
Scott Walker – Cossacks Are (4AD)
The Residents – Happy Home (Cryptic Corp)
Candiria – 1,000 Points of Light (Type A Records)
RUSH – Cygnus X-1 (Island/Def Jam)
Mahavishnu Orchestra – Birds of Fire (Sony)
Gorguts – Forgotten Arrows (Season of Mist)
Aphex Twin – Cockk/Ver10 (Warp)
Portal – Kilter (Profound Lore)