September 14, 2018

Once again, things got a bit hectic around here this week as we announced another slew of artists for Roadburn 2019. Among them was the Dutch post-everything band, GOLD. We called upon their good natures and excellent music taste to enlist their help with this week’s playlist.

Milena and Thomas put their heads together and came up with a great selection of tracks. They commented:

“To make a playlist for Roadburn is such an honor and it’s also sooooo hard! So many good songs we’d love to share. Our taste is very versatile, there’s black metal, there’s post punk, folk, soul, pop, hiphop, electronic, orchestral and experimental, which makes it quite the task to choose.

“For us the fun starts when everything comes together, and so does this collection of favorites. We start off with the best voice ever. Nina Simone brings us depth and contemplation. This song is especially important to us, as we start every live show listening to this together with our audience. From there on we take off to all these different places, that are often as dark and real as they are beautiful and personal. Welcome to the world of GOLD.”

If you’d like to seek out these songs elsewhere, here’s the info you need:

Nina Simone – Images (live) (UMG)

Oranssi Pazuzu – Olen Avannut Uuden Silmän (Oranssi Pazuzu)

The Cure – Cold (Fiction)

Nico – Janitor of Lunacy (Domino)

Light Asylum – Dark Allies (Mexican Summer)

Wiegedood – Prowl (Century Media)

Algiers – Death March (Matador)

Mica Levi – Love (Rough Trade)

Portishead – Machine Gun (Go!Discs)

Linda Perhaps – Chimacum Rain (Geffen)

Liturgy – Follow (Thrill Jockey)

Dead Can Dance – Ascension (4AD)

Moor Mother – Deadbeat Protest (Don Giovanni Records

Swans – When Will I Return? (Young God Records)

Arvo Pärt, Gil ShahamTabula Rasa: 2. Silentium: Senza moto (Deutsche Grammophon)